Tower Committee

The Higginson Tower Committee members are:

André Martel, Co-President
Co-owner of Martel & Sons Monuments,
15 Terry Fox Drive,
Vankleek Hill, Ontario
K0B 1R0
Tel.: 613-678-2217
Fax: 613-678-3450
Email: [email protected]

André Martel is Vice-President and co-owner of Martel & Sons Monuments Inc. and is a graduate of the University of Ottawa with a Bachelor of Commerce degree (spec.). He has received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Monument Builders of North America. He is president “founder” of the Small Business Consulting Group of the University of Ottawa and a Director of the Ontario Monument Builders Association.

He is past-president of the Hawkesbury Minor Hockey Association, past vice-president for District III Minor Hockey and a past director for Junior Council Hockey ODHA. André is president of the Vankleek Hill Junior “C” hockey team and co-owner of Sport Club Promotion. André is a member of the Vankleek Hill Business and Merchant Association.

Louise Sproule, Co-President
Owner and Publisher of The Review, 76 Main Street East, Vankleek Hill
Tel.: 613-678-3327
Fax: 613-937-2591
Email: [email protected]
Louise Sproule is committed to building the local and regional business community by promoting attractions and the quality of life here in Eastern Ontario and Western Quebec. She is proud to say that she is a descendant of Simeon Vankleek, the first settler in Vankleek Hill. Louise has served as Secretary and continues to be an active member of the Vankleek Hill Business and Merchant Association. She is one of the key organizers of Vankleek Hill’s annual Trash ‘n’ Treasure event (town-wide yard sale) held the first Saturday in June and the Victorian Home and Garden Tour, which takes place the third Sunday in June. Louise was the first-ever woman to join the Hawkesbury Rotary Club in 1992, serving later as the first female president of the club. Louise has owned The Review since 1993.


Gary J. Barton
Former MAYOR, Champlain Township
Former Warden, United Counties of Prescott-Russell
Tel.: 613-678-3003
Fax: 613-678-3363
Email: [email protected]

Gary Barton retired in 1998 as a Secondary School Principal after a 35-year career in education. Having already served several decades as a municipal councillor for the Town of Vankleek Hill and more recently, for Champlain Township, he is currently the Mayor of Champlain Township. Gary has been involved in community activities since he was a high school student. Gary is a past president of the Junior Chamber of Commerce, a past president of the Vankleek Hill Curling Club, a past president of the Vankleek Hill Recreation Association and a Director of the Vankleek Hill Historical Society. Gary is a former minor hockey and soccer coach. He is a past chair of the Eastern Ontario Health Unit and this year, is Warden of the United Counties of Prescott-Russell.

Gayle Renwick, Treasurer
of Wagar and Holland
Vankleek Hill
142, rue Main est
Vankleek Hill (Ontario)
Tél.: 613-678-5398
Téléc.: 613-678-3030
Courriel: [email protected]

Peter Barton   Tel: 613-799-8264

Alice Higginson MacLaurin       Email:[email protected]   Tel: 613-678-5405

Percy Higginson  Email: [email protected]